Sri Lanka Schools Basketball Association Under 19  ‘B’ Division Tournament – 2015

St.Michael’s College, Batticaloa took part in the recently concluded held in Colombo from October 10th to 15th, 2015. Our Under 19 College team arrived with Coach cum Master In Charge Viren Charavanamuttu and they were accommodated at Wesley College, Colombo 9, courtesy, President Julian Jayaratnarajah.

Saturday 10th October 2015

Morning             beat Issipathana MV, Colombo 5   (58 – 45)

Evening             beat Richmond College, Galle      (53 – 20)

Sunday 11th October   2015

Morning           beat Nalanda College, Colombo 10 (68 – 36)

Evening           beat St. Anthony’s, Wattala             (47 – 18)

Monday 12th October 2015

Quarter finals onwards all the matches were played at St.Benedict’s College Courts, Kotahena,Colombo 13.

Our team beat Colombo International School Colombo 7 (68 -43) easily in their quarter final match and entered semifinals.

Tuesday 13th October 2015

Defeated by Royal Institute (66-55) who eventually became the Champions.

Beating Ananda College, Colombo 10.

Our College Finished in the 4th place losing to St.Benedcit’s College, Colombo 13.

During the last two months our Under 19 team took part in three different tournaments – the Pasal Kreeda, Crowther Cup annual Thomian Michaelite encounter and this Under 19 “B” –S L Schools Tournament. Viren Charavanamuttu said that it is almost a week the boys are away from home and without proper nourishment it’s difficult for them to play continually for 7 days in Colombo.

We Colombo Alumni hosted a dinner at Wesley College to encourage the boys and the Coach and discussed various corrective actions to be taken up to improve the standard of this game in our school. Many Michaelites visited them encouraged and helped in many other ways.


70th Annual General Meeting

The 70th Annual General meeting  of  St. Michael’s College, Batticaloa Alumni Association(Colombo) was held on October 3rd 2015 at 7.15 .p.m. at  the  Raja Bojun Restaurant , Liberty Arcade , 282, R.A.De Mel Mawatha , Colombo 3 preceded  by a thanksgiving mass celebrated at the St.Anthony’s Church, Colombo 3 , by our Patron and  Chief Guest Rt. Rev. Dr. Joseph Ponniah  – Bishop of Batticaloa.

Senior Vice Patron I.T. Canagaratnam introduced the Chief Guest.

The Chief Guest in his address praised the work of the Colombo Alumni Association and said that there should be unity among the old boys. He concluded by saying that the more we give the more we receive.

Annual Report was presented by the Asst. Secretary Valluwan Logendra and the Audited Accounts by the treasurer S. Vithiananthan.

The following office bearers were elected for the year 2015/2016


Rt. Rev. Dr. Joseph Ponniah         Bishop of Batticaloa

Senior Vice Paton

Mr. Ignatius T. Canagaratnam

Vice Patrons


Mr. R.C.Perumal

Mr. Angelo Patrick

Mr. K.Thurairajaratnam

Mr. Kumar David

Mr. Alston Jeganathan

Imm. Past President

Mr. Joseph C. Daniel


Mr. Julian P Jayaratnarajah


Mr. Ashley Jegan Rajadurai


Mr. Sebamalai Vithiyananthan

Vice Presidents


Mr. S.Selvaruban

Mr. Bradley Ockersz

Mr. Ravindra Senathirajah

Asst. Secretary

Mr. Valluvan Logendra

Asst. Treasurer

Ms. Sumathy Asokan

Committee Members

Mr. Sathya Selvanayagam

Mr. S.Sivakumar

Mr. Anton J. Raveendrarajah

Mr. L. Ganeshamoorthy

Mr. M.Pushpaharan

Mr. M.Suthaharan

Mr. Krishnapillai Kamalageethan

Mr. Ragunathan Sinnathurai

Mr. Judixon Mariyathasan

Mr. N.Sivanandarajah

Mr. Dhananjeyan Wijendra

Mr. K.Ravindran

Mr. Printhan Alaguthurai

Mr.Winston Ockersz

Mr. Sujanthan Selvendran


Mr. Murugesu Mathiyalagan

A 70th Anniversary Mug printed appropriately to mark the occasion was presented to members as a memento. It was encouraging to note the presence of a large numbers of young members.

Good fellowship DJ music and dancing by young members followed. A buffet dinner brought this well attended meeting to a close.